December 2016 Field Visit – Campbell’s Swamp

I was at a loss as to where to visit for my final field trip of 2016, when a friend on Twitter unwittingly provided inspiration:

tweet-by-matt

So off to Griffith I went to visit Campbell’s Swamp.

dscf4890

dscf4891

Of course, I managed to pick the only cloudy day in December to do so, although it didn’t actually rain until much later in the day, so at least I got my visit in without undue risk to my camera, even if the light wasn’t so good for photos.

Campbell’s Swamp has several lovely signs up alongside the path and boardwalk, identifying some of the species present, so I didn’t even have to resort to my field guide to determine that this was Miljee (Acacia oswaldii).

dscf4901

dscf4903

dscf4904

My thanks to the Murrumbidgee Field Naturalists for the signs.

I do have to admit, I was a little daunted when I saw where the boardwalk led – I prefer seeing where I’m going, particularly in snake season, and I hate walking through spider webs, not least because I feel bad if I wreck some poor spider’s carefully-constructed home/snare.

dscf4914

I paused on my way in to stalk this little spider until I managed to get some clear photos. Said spider was not amused at my antics.

dscf4923

I then proceeded to crash through the reeds overhanging the boardwalk like an apologetic Godzilla in spider-town. This, incidentally, turned out to be a great way to accidentally collect tiny caterpillars.

I then emerged into the open and could take a proper look around.

Campbell's Swamp, Griffith
Campbell’s Swamp, Griffith

 

Matt mentioned bitterns in his tweet, and I can confirm that there are definitely at least two Australasian Bitterns (Botaurus poiciloptilus) at Campbell’s Swamp, at least one of which is a male. As I made my way in I could hear him booming, and he sounded off periodically the whole time I was there. I was sitting to have a drink at one point, with Mister Bittern sounding to my right, when another Australasian Bittern lifted of from the cumbungi to my left and flew past, heading for another part of the wetland. It was a fantastic sight, very close up, but alas my hands were occupied with my water bottle and I had no time to grab my camera, so no photo for you.

I did get this photo later of a bird at a distance, which might be a bittern. It looks Australasian Bittern-ish to me.

possible-bittern

Also exciting was my first ever Nankeen Night-Heron (Nycticorax caledonicus). I either saw the same bird three times, or three different birds, although I suspect the former scenario is the most likely. (Also present:  a pair of Galahs)

heron-galahs

night-heron-1

night-heron-2

night-heron-3
Likewise surveying the landscape from a high perch was this Straw-necked Ibis (Threskiornis spinicollis) with straw-like neck plumage proudly displayed. That’s a White-faced Heron (Egretta novaehollandiae) passing overhead in the second photo.

dscf4936

dscf4937

Black Swan – I see you!

dscf4966

Purple Swamphen – I see you as well!

dscf4976

Unidentified parrot – I had thought at the time it might be a female Superb Parrot (Polytelis swainsonii), given the long tail, but I’m really not sure.  Edit: Thanks to Carol Probets for the ID in the comments: it’s a male red-rumped parrot (Psephotus haematonotus).

dscf5006
Several Glossy Ibises (Plegadis falcinellus) wheeled past overhead at one point, always a joy to watch.

dscf5011

dscf5012

dscf5013

2016 has truly been the year of Magpie Goose sightings. (I think these may be the worst photos I’ve uploaded to this blog to date; this is how excited I get about seeing magpie geese, I’ll upload even the worst pictures of them)

dscf5036

dscf5037

The entrance to the birdhide was as overgrown as the path in, but I headed through anyway, to discover that the hide has no benches to sit on, which makes for some uncomfortable long-term watching. Someone had left some makeshift stepstools behind to stand on though, allowing more people to get a better height when looking through the window slits, which I thought was very thoughtful of whomever it was.

dscf4987

dscf4988

The view from inside the hide.

dscf5004

dscf4989

dscf4994
Overgrown doorway, like something out of a jungle-based thriller.

dscf5003

My greatest impression on this visit was that the site presented an amazing, complex soundscape, far surpassing the visual aspects. So much so that I attempted to capture it several times using the video function on my camera, in order to share it with you. My video producing skills are lacking, and the footage itself isn’t great, but I have cobbled together a few of my snippets of footage so you can have a listen. You can hear the bittern booming at around the 2.07 mark. I’ve also linked to a few pages below that have recordings of the calls of individual species.

In addition to the Australasian Bittern, species whose calls I recognised included: Barking Marsh Frogs (Limnodynastes fletcheri), Spotted Marsh Frogs (Limnodynastes tasmaniensis), and Purple Swamphens (Porphyrio porphyrio), along with the calls of the Black Swans (Cygnus atratus) and Magpie Geese (Anseranas semipalmata) at times, and the constant twittering of assorted little brown, fast-moving things that I am determined to learn to identify one day.

Speaking of fast-moving little brown twittery things: I’m fairly sure this is an Australian Reed-Warbler (Acrocephalus australis).

warbler-1

warbler-2

On the way out I decided it was fitting to photograph the mistletoe in the tree I was parked under, what with it being Christmas time and all.

dscf5063

Mistletoes are so fascinating, and they get such a bad (and undeserved) rap. Doctor Dave Watson gives a nice simple overview of mistletoe awesomeness in this video by the Murray Darling Basin Authority and their project partners:

 

And that brings us to the end of 2016. Happy New Year everyone, I’m looking forward to seeing what 2017 holds.

2 thoughts on “December 2016 Field Visit – Campbell’s Swamp

  1. Carol Probets January 1, 2017 / 7:33 pm

    Awesome description of a booming wetland. Makes me want to go there! I laughed when I saw the pic of the overgrown doorway. Well done getting the calling bittern in your video. As well as the very prominent reed-warbler, I heard a Little Grassbird in there too.

    I think your parrot is a male Red-rumped. The yellow belly and that small pale patch on the shoulder rule out any other possibilities and if you look carefully you can just see the red rump.

    Liked by 1 person

    • riverinawildlife January 1, 2017 / 8:18 pm

      Thanks! 🙂

      I was very pleased about getting a recording of the bittern; he kept sounding off at random intervals, but never for very long, so I decided to sit there with my camera, ready to hit record the next time he started, which paid off.

      I am so bad at identifying the calls of small songbirds, I think I should set myself a challenge to learn at least a few before the end of this year. If I can learn frog calls I can surely learn bird calls.

      Thanks for the parrot ID, I didn’t get a very good look at it in person and was going on my initial impression and that one photo. I thought a female superb was wrong.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

