November 2016 Field Visit – Conimbla National Park

Last week I needed to visit Cowra for a day, so I took the opportunity to stop into Conimbla National Park for a while before heading home. Cowra is outside of the area identified as ‘Riverina’ on the map on my About page, but it’s within the federal electoral division of Riverina, so I decided that was good enough to count as a Riverina site.

Conimbla National Park is very pretty, prepare yourself for lots of general scenery shots. Also pictures of bark; I’m intrigued by the variety of colours and textures of bark, and there was a lot of very artistic bark on display in the portion of the Park I visited.

Conimbla National Park

Even the drive in was pretty, with sticky everlastings and yellow buttons in flower along the road verges.

The road into Conimbla National Park
Along the road in

 

I parked at the Ironbarks picnic area and headed out along the Ironbark walking track.

dscf4634

It was well named, although it might have been even more accurately named if it was called the Ironbark and Cypress Pine track.

Ironbarks and Cypress Pines
Ironbarks in front, Cypress Pines behind

 

I have only an hour of November left in which to get this blog post online, and I haven’t yet identified everything I photographed, so please enjoy the pictures below and I will come back and edit this entry as soon as I can with actual names of things.

I think these are a Dillwynia of some sort, but I need to check. I do know they were gorgeous and prolific.

dscf4631

dscf4637

dscf4639

Absolutely the most success I’ve ever had photographing live butterflies. I think these are Australian Painted Ladies.

dscf4683

dscf4689

butterflies

dscf4695

Artistic bark! And hairy lichen.

dscf4699

dscf4700

Details of a Casuarina.

dscf4705

dscf4707

dscf4708

I’m not sure what these are, but I thought the shape of them was interesting.

dscf4664

dscf4665

dscf4666

I believe I promised you pretty scenery shots.

dscf4661

dscf4622

dscf4756

dscf4764

I continued in my well-established trend of not noticing really big wallabies browsing at close range until they startle and go crashing out of there, although this one didn’t go too far and then stuck around to keep an eye on me.

dscf4722

dscf4725

Artistically contrasting bark!

dscf4731

dscf4793

Very pretty purple flowers that I need to look up in my field guides.

dscf4737

dscf4739

dscf4741

dscf4743

dscf4747

Sundews!

dscf4673

dscf4676

The calyces of spent Fringe-Myrtle flowers.

dscf4777

More artistic bark.

dscf4782

dscf4786

Unidentified bird.

dscf4796

I know what this is, I have some in my garden, but it’s midnight and I’m drawing a blank.

dscf4798

dscf4801

dscf4824

dscf4823

And leaf litter, because by this time the entire outing had turned into artistic appreciation of colour and texture, and I couldn’t ignore the variety underfoot.

dscf4818

I also saw two or three very small birds that I thought might be Diamond Firetails, but I could not for the life of me get a fix with either camera or binoculars.

On my way out I was thinking about how strange it was that in nearly two years of running this blog I have yet to encounter a snake, and, disappointingly, rarely see any reptiles at all, when I suddenly had to swerve to miss a snake that was crossing the road ahead. I wasn’t sure I’d missed it, so I pulled up a few metres away to check; it had evidently thrown itself back off the road as I passed, and was starting to cross again, shining sleekly in the sun; I was hoping to get a photo but it realised I was there and threw itself off the road again, and refused to leave the safety of the long grass. By golly it moved fast though, which is a good reminder to never get too close to wild snakes – they can throw themselves further than you’d suspect, faster than you can blink.

And that was the end of my little visit to Conimbla National Park.

In case you missed them: I posted field trip reports earlier this month about my visits to Mulligans Flat and Jerrabomberra Wetlands in the ACT. I also posted some pictures of a Rainbow Bee-eater I saw on private property near Wagga Wagga.

2 thoughts on “November 2016 Field Visit – Conimbla National Park

  1. A.M. Valenza December 23, 2016 / 12:38 pm

    This is the most beautiful place you’ve visited yet.

    Like, I’m just in awe of how gorgeous everything was, and the pictures you’ve taken! I’m actually in awe right now. Those sights… no joke, that bird story idea is now slowly blooming into a whole universe inspired by this blog. Just seeing all of this makes my imagination go wild. Thank you for such lovely inspiration ❤

    I read the first part of this at work today – I've decided to save your blog when things get slow at work, because otherwise I'm bored out of mind – and started writing all the things I wanted to say on a little post-it. So *whips out notes* let's begin!

    I'm very sure cypress trees grow in my area, but I've only seen the manicured kind, and those trees were much more beautiful – but what I found really striking where the ironbark tree! Oh my goodness SO. MANY. IDEAS. Ugh! It's not just that the trees were beautiful and stunning, but the shots you got were just spot on and they made my imagination all tingly with awe. I may be squeeing over this, but, dude.

    Dude.

    I gasped when I saw the picture of the Dillwynia. Those are so pretty. I just can't. All the imagery ideas. Gah. *drowns* I honestly want to frame the first close up shot you got of those, that was a beautiful capture. *gushes*

    Artistic Bark! – made me laugh so hard. I had this image of froofry art snobs being all like, "But it's ARTISANAL bark, you pleb!" and sipping at reed thin glasses of champagne.

    There was a picture of casuarina? I think I spelled that right. Is that a pinecone-like thing? Or am I totally off the bat?

    I thought the shape of that fern-like plant reminded me of like the dorsal fin of prehistoric swordfish-like creatures rippling up from the ground. Then my brain promptly when horror-movie. I think my imagination was tripping out by this point *snicker*

    Anyway, this was seriously the prettiest and most well-shot visit yet and I am saving a huge chunk of these pictures in my story prompt folder for "untitled bird 'verse'" story <3<3<3

    Like

    • riverinawildlife December 30, 2016 / 9:39 pm

      Awww… thank you. ❤ (And sorry for the late reply – between Christmas and working I haven't been checking for comments as often as usual)

      I don't know if these Cypress Pines (genus Callitris) are the same as the Cypress trees you have at home, they're an Australian species (but may have been exported I guess), but I believe they're in the same family as other Cypress species and so probably look similar.

      I love Ironbarks, the juxtaposition of the heavy, dark (often black) bark with the small, pale leaves is just really striking to me.

      I'm still not 100% sure if that IS a Dillwynia; there are several genera with very similar flowers, and the more searching I do to try and pin down an ID the more confused I'm getting. But they're pretty, and I'm pleased with the photos I got. I much prefer taking pictures of plants, because they tend to hold still long enough to get some good shots, more so than animals and other critters. I'm glad you like them. 🙂

      There are three pictures of a casuarina in this post – one shows the cones (yes, they look a lot like tiny pine cones, but a slightly different shape, and not actually related to pines), one shows a teeny, tiny red flower (they have separate male and female flowers, and this is a female one, I'm pretty sure I've got pictures of male flowers in a post from last year), and the other is a study of the leaves, because casuarina leaves are so amazingly unique – again, they look a bit like pine needles at first glance, but they're quite different on closer examination. They're such awesome plants.

      (Edit: male flowers here https://riverinawildlife.files.wordpress.com/2015/08/dscf1721.jpg)

      Dorsal fin! Yes. That's exactly what they looked like. Very much like the sinuous spine of something rising up from the water/ground. There were dozens of plants dotted all over, and every leaf had the exact same curve.

      I'm glad you're enjoying my blog posts and finding inspiration in them. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

