September 2015 Field Visit – Spring Flowers

I love September – winter is finished, summer isn’t quite here yet, and there’s wildflowers everywhere – so for September’s field trip I decided to visit several sites around the region and see what flowers I could find. A warning for people with slow connection speeds – this post is very pic-heavy.

As always, click on photos to view larger, and please excuse the variation in image quality, I used three different cameras this month, including the one on my phone, which is not the best.

I started in Ganmain because the daisies and hop-bushes (Dodonaea viscosa) beside the road caught my eye as I drove past. Strictly speaking, the lovely colourful things on the hop bushes aren’t flowers, those are their seeding bodies, but they’re much prettier and more eye-catching than the flowers.

DSCN1632 DSCN1629

DSCN1649 DSCN1653

I also found my first Early Nancies (Wurmbea dioica) of the season. I used to work with a woman who would have referred to these specific flowers as ‘Early Neds’, because Early Nancies have separate male and female flowers/plants, and these flowers are male.

DSCN1643
Male Early Nancy (Wurmbea diocia)

Also present: Bulbine Lilies (Bulbine bulbosa).

DSCN1636 DSCN1639 DSCN1658

I had been told about some orchids near Narrandera, so those were next on my list – and were not the only flowers I found there. I visited three different sites around Narrandera Shire and found lovely carpets of different flowers at each.

Yellow Burr-daisy
Yellow Burr-daisy (Calotis lappulacea)
20150919_155745
Yellow and Purple Burr-daisies (Calotis spp.)

DSCN1801

DSCN1796
Austral Bugle (Ajuga australia)
DSCN1799
Austral Bugle (Ajuga australia)
DSCN1712
Common Everlasting (Chrysocephalum apiculatum)
DSCN1710
Common Everlasting (Chrysocephalum apiculatum)

DSCN1700 DSCN1732

On the orchid front I found a lot of Pink Finger Orchids (Caladenia carnea) and several Midget Greenhood Orchids (Pterostylis mutica).

DSCN1745 DSCN1752 DSCN1764 DSCN1779 DSCN1789

DSCN1765 DSCN1770 DSCN1775

Also present: Goodenias, Sticky Everlastings, daisies, more Bulbine Lilies, and some tiny little purple pea-like flowers which might be a species of Glycine.

DSCN1692 DSCN1706 DSCN1716 DSCN1721 DSCN1734 DSCN1736 DSCN1737 DSCN1783-2

DSCN1699 DSCN1702

I also made a (sadly brief, late-in-the-day) visit to Mundawaddery cemetery near Pleasant Hills. Small rural cemeteries as a general rule are great for finding native flowers, because beyond a bit of mowing a few times a year, and any grazing  from local rabbits and kangaroos, they tend to be fairly untouched, which means that species that drop out of more disturbed systems are often present.

DSCF1885
Golden Moth Orchid aka Donkey Orchid (Diuris sp.)
DSCF1912
Sundew (Drosera sp.)
DSCF1941
Early Nancy flowers – females on lower left, males upper right.
DSCF1987
Greenhood orchid (Pterostylis sp.)
DSCF1968
Native Buttercup (Ranunculus sp.)

DSCF1892 DSCF1949

I also have some bird pics I want to share, and have remembered that I promised a follow-up post to August’s field trip and haven’t put it up yet, so keep your eyes on the site and I’ll try and get those up soonish.

Leave a Reply

