July’s roadside birds

It’s a week later than I’d hoped to get these up, but here are my roadside birding pics from my aborted attempt at a field trip in July.

Birds on a wire near Coleambally. They flew off before I managed to get a good view of them, and I can’t ID them from this photo, it’s possible they’re introduced Blackbirds (Turdus merula).

DSCF1594

Long-billed Corellas (Cacatua tenuirostris) at Darlington Point.

DSCF1595

DSCF1597 DSCF1602

White-faced Heron (Egretta novaehollandiae) between Whitton and Leeton.

DSCF1606

Straw-necked Ibises (Threskiornis spinicollis) at Leeton.

DSCF1609

 

DSCF1610

In Leeton I drove around to the Huey Road Lookout that looks out over the ephemeral part of Fivebough Swamp, which is currently full of water after a very wet winter. One of these days I’ll get a better camera for distance shots, but in this photo there are several Straw-necked Ibises, White-faced Herons and Black Swans (Cygnus atratus). There were also several species of smaller wading birds present, but they’re not visible in the photo.

DSCF1623

 

 

And a bonus picture of a Magpie Goose (Anseranas semipalmata) I saw in Victoria a couple of weeks ago:

DSCF1567

3 thoughts on “July’s roadside birds

    • riverinawildlife August 12, 2015 / 12:57 pm

      We get three species of Ibis here: White Ibis, Straw-necked Ibis and Glossy Ibis – I can never decide which are my favourite. A lot of city people hate ibises, because the ones that live in cities are awful draggled things that eat out of bins and accost picnickers, but out here wild ibises always look lovely and majestic, in my opinion. I love to see them.

      Liked by 1 person

      • A.M. Valezna August 13, 2015 / 12:44 pm

        I rarely think a bird is drab, and the birds where I live are not exactly considered the most fantastical kinds, heh. Definitely no ibises. But a lot people hate pigeons and I think they’re gorgeous. All that metallic teal and blue and purple fading into grayish white, ah, it’s so pretty. Then again *snerk* I live in corvidae land, so I don’t see pigeons very often. 😛 Anyway, I can’t wait to see more pics of the birdies in your part of the world.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

