June 2015 Field Visit – Kindra State Forest

In an effort to make up for not getting out in April and May I have already posted entries about two field trips I made earlier this month to Narrandera Common and Mulligans Flat, so go check those out if you haven’t already. However, this is the actual official Monthly Field Visit for June 2015. Today I went to Kindra State Forest near Coolamon.

Kindra State Forest Coolamon
Kindra State Forest Coolamon

This is the first time I’ve been to Kindra State Forest, but according to the information on Coolamon Shire Council’s website it ‘is made up of 52 hectares of remnant bushland. The Forest contains a number of walking tracks that will lead you on a trail of discovery, taking in the flora and fauna of the Forest, seating and viewing areas, picnic spots and interperative signage to help you discover the area.’

The reserve apparently hosts more than 100 bird species, as well as multiple frog, reptile and mammal species, and from what I saw walking around, it should have a fair few native wildflowers in evidence come spring, so I will be sure to head back in a few months to see what’s in bloom. It also looked like a good place to find echidnas and goannas to me, so I’ll be sure to keep an eye out for those on future visits as well.

The overstorey looked to be mostly Grey Box (Eucalyptus microcarpa) and Cypress Pine (Callitris sp.), with an understorey of assorted Acacias and knee-high scrub species, including some Sticky Everlastings (Xerochrysum viscosum) that had a few brave early buds on them.

Sticky Everlasting (Xerochrysum viscosum) flower bud
Sticky Everlasting (Xerochrysum viscosum) flower bud
Sticky Everlasting (Xerochrysum viscosum)
Sticky Everlasting (Xerochrysum viscosum)

Not too far from the gate I heard a loud thumping noise, which I at first thought was a kid bouncing a soccer ball on the road outside, but which turned out to be a large Swamp Wallaby  (Wallabia bicolor) doing its best to get as far away from me as possible. With the one I saw at Mulligans Flat, this seems to have been my month for wallabies; sadly they’re camera shy (or people shy) and I was unable to get a photo for you.

I spent my walk surrounded by bird calls I was mostly unable to identify, because my bird call ID skills are rubbish, so I will have to return sometime with a keen birdo in tow to help me identify what I’m hearing. The birds themselves kept mostly out of my way, so today’s photos are all of things that don’t move around much.

For example – I saw quite a lot of macropod footprints on all the tracks I walked along, courtesy of the recent rain:

DSCF1523 DSCF1468

I also saw two different processionary caterpillar nests:

DSCF1531        DSCF1494

Very appropriate trail signage:

Wallaby Way
Also funny if you’re a ‘Finding Nemo’ fan

Lots of moss:

Moss on the rocks
Moss enjoying the dampness from recent rain
Macro view of moss
Moss up close, because moss is beautiful when viewed up close

Lichen on a cypress pine:

DSCF1517     DSCF1513

DSCF1516   DSCF1514

 

Lichen on the road:

DSCF1510    DSCF1511

DSCF1512

 

This very important public message:

DSCF1508

 

 

Hidden jewels in a road washout:

DSCF1525

 

Grey box trees (Eucalyptus microcarpa) that just needed a hug:

DSCF1493

 

A pied Currawong (Strepera graculina) next to what might or might not be its own nest:

DSCF1533

 

And whatever the hell this is:

DSCF1543

At first I thought it was a lump of fur, possibly from a kangaroo, but I couldn’t think of any reason why a random lump of fur would be lying in the middle of the road, with no signs of conflict or other lumps of fur in evidence. Then I wondered if perhaps it was a very lush mould of some sort. A friend of mine has suggested it might be a Phycomyces fungus on an animal turd. If you have any light to shed on the matter please let me know in the comments.

All in all though, I’m very pleased with my little jaunt to Kindra Forest today, and have a new addition to my ‘places to revisit’ list. If you’re in the Coolamon area, be sure to check it out yourself sometime.

 

2 thoughts on “June 2015 Field Visit – Kindra State Forest

  1. A.M. Valezna June 28, 2015 / 2:56 am

    I like reading about your field visits so much! It’s cool to see the kind of life you have over there.

    Like

    • riverinawildlife June 28, 2015 / 1:01 pm

      Thanks. 🙂 That’s pretty much what I’m going for with this blog, just me going for walks in the bush (or wetlands or wherever) and sharing the things I see there, so other people can enjoy them too, albeit from a distance. I’m glad you’re enjoying my posts, I will try to make sure I don’t miss any more months this year.

      Like

Leave a Reply

